about lifepath christian ministries

All you want to know about LifePath Christian Ministries, our history, our leadership, our financials, and more.

Mission Statement

Our mission is to love, honor, and serve all people. Our hope and prayer is to help struggling neighbors discover a journey of hope … and equip them for a transformation for life.

Our Vision

Building on our mission statement, LifePath is progressing with the changing dynamics of those we serve. We foster personal relationships and a greater understanding of challenges in today’s world. We provide holistic support systems for physical, mental, and spiritual health, ultimately leading to complete life transformation.

We value service above self. We aim to be Christlike, inviting men, women, and children to accept God’s Son as Savior (John 3:16). We meet the basic human needs of those we serve, as well as equip, train, nurture, and guide them toward a better quality of life. We strive for excellence in all we do.

Our History

“From the very beginning, the importance of a mission for York was on the hearts of all of us.”

So said Stuart Shelley, one of the founders of York Rescue Mission (the precursor to LifePath Christian Ministries). In 1961, Shelley and others started planning the Mission’s work and vision. We opened in 1962 with only two buildings — one for sleeping quarters for homeless neighbors, a small restaurant to serve meals, and a chapel, and the other for the Mission’s superintendent and family.

Herman R. Smith, another founder and our first Board President, said, “Our first priority has always been the salvation of men’s souls. Their spiritual needs come first, then their physical needs. We help them, house them, and feed them. We help them find God, and get over the problems they may have so they can reenter the mainstream of life.”

Within the first two years, the Mission became overcrowded and had to expand … and we’ve been expanding ever since — not just in our facilities, but also in the way we help our neighbors in need, now with more services than ever before.

Our Leadership

Honorable N. Christopher Menges, President
Marley Gross, Vice President
Jean Firestone, Secretary
Jennifer Damiano, Treasurer
Donna Hildebrand
Ray Lehman
Peter McCreesh
Sam Schwartz
Gene Vega
Will Walls
Fred Wolfe

Matthew F. Carey
CEO
717.845.7662 x1107
mcarey@lifepathyork.org

Tiffany Glatfelter
COO
717.845.7662 x1105
tglatfelter@lifepathyork.org

Scott Beattie
Life Skills Director, Men’s Shelter
717.472.8890 x1204
sbeattie@lifepathyork.org

Jan Wilson
Single Women & Children Shelter Director
717.845.5947 x1402
jwilson@lifepathyork.org

Chris Cunningham
Youth Center Director
717.843.5799
ccunningham@lifepathyork.org

John Ellis
Director of Volunteer Services
717.845.7662 x1103
jellis@lifepathyork.org

Jon Fiorenza
Dover Economy Store Manager
717.292.7832
jfiorenza@lifepathyork.org

Angelic Clark
Dallastown Economy Store Manager
717.244.2780
aclark@lifepathyork.org

Dave Cook
Director of Operations and Outreach, York Economy Store
717.472.8889
dcook@lifepathyork.org

Teresa Rufo
Food Services Director
717.472.8890 x1205
trufo@lifepathyork.org

Scharmen L. Konieczka
Executive Assistant
717.845.7662 x1107
skonieczka@lifepathyork.org

Annual Reports

In 2015, York Rescue Mission:

  • served 200,000 meals
  • distributed 23,100 pounds of clothes
  • gave 44,810 nights of shelter
  • had 7,867 volunteers
  • saw 206 people come to Christ

Read more of our 2015 highlights in our Annual Report coming soon.

Financials

LifePath Christian Ministries is a 501 (c)(3) non-profit, faith-based organization, accredited by the Association of Gospel Rescue Missions and with a 3-star rating from Charity Navigator. 73.3% of all gifts are put back into life-changing programs. We receive no government funding. All contributions are tax-deductible.