about lifepath christian ministries

All you want to know about LifePath Christian Ministries, our history, our leadership, our financials, and more.

Mission Statement

Out of gratitude for the grace extended to us by Christ, our mission is to love, honor and serve our struggling neighbors at their point of need and holistically equip them to flourish in the community.

Our Vision

Transforming lives, transforming community.

Our History

“From the very beginning, the importance of a mission for York was on the hearts of all of us.”

So said Stuart Shelley, one of the founders of York Rescue Mission (the precursor to LifePath Christian Ministries). In 1961, Shelley and others started planning the Mission’s work and vision. We opened in 1962 with only two buildings — one for sleeping quarters for homeless neighbors, a small restaurant to serve meals, and a chapel, and the other for the Mission’s superintendent and family.

Herman R. Smith, another founder and our first Board President, said, “Our first priority has always been the salvation of men’s souls. Their spiritual needs come first, then their physical needs. We help them, house them, and feed them. We help them find God, and get over the problems they may have so they can reenter the mainstream of life.”

Within the first two years, the Mission became overcrowded and had to expand … and we’ve been expanding ever since — not just in our facilities, but also in the way we help our neighbors in need, now with more services than ever before.

Our Leadership

Honorable N. Christopher Menges, President
Marley Gross, Vice President
Jean Firestone, Secretary
Jennifer Damiano, Treasurer
Aaron Anderson
Donna Hildebrand
Ray Lehman
Peter McCreesh
Sam Schwartz
Gene Vega
Will Walls
Fred Wolfe

Matthew F. Carey
CEO
717.845.7662 x1107
mcarey@lifepathyork.org

Tiffany Glatfelter
COO
717.845.7662 x1105
tglatfelter@lifepathyork.org

Steve Brubaker
CPO
717.845.7662 x1207
sbrubaker@lifepathyork.org

Micah Heckert
Men’s Shelter Director
717.472.8890 x1208
mheckert@lifepathyork.org

Scott Beattie
Life Skills Director, Men’s Shelter
717.472.8890 x1204
sbeattie@lifepathyork.org

Dave Cook
Corporate & Community Engagement Manager
717.845.5947 x1402
dcook@lifepathyork.org

Scharmen L. Konieczka
Donor Engagement & Events Manager
717.845.7662 x1107
skonieczka@lifepathyork.org

John Ellis
Director of Volunteer Services
717.845.7662 x1103
jellis@lifepathyork.org

Jon Fiorenza
Director of Thrift Operations
717.292.7832
jfiorenza@lifepathyork.org

Angelic Clark
Dallastown & Dove Economy Store Manager
717.244.2780
aclark@lifepathyork.org

Doreen Carey
York Economy Store Manager
717.472.8889
dcarey@lifepathyork.org

Teresa Rufo
Food Services Director
717.472.8890 x1205
trufo@lifepathyork.org

Annual Reports

In 2015, York Rescue Mission:

  • served 200,000 meals
  • distributed 23,100 pounds of clothes
  • gave 44,810 nights of shelter
  • had 7,867 volunteers
  • saw 206 people come to Christ

Read more of our 2015 highlights in our Annual Report coming soon.

Financials

LifePath Christian Ministries is a 501 (c)(3) non-profit, faith-based organization, accredited by the Association of Gospel Rescue Missions and with a 3-star rating from Charity Navigator. 73.3% of all gifts are put back into life-changing programs. We receive no government funding. All contributions are tax-deductible.