About 1

All you want to know about LifePath Christian Ministries, our history, our leadership, our financials, and more.

Mission Statement

Out of gratitude for the grace extended to us by Christ, our mission is to love, honor and serve our struggling neighbors at their point of need and holistically equip them to flourish in the community.

Our Vision

Transforming lives, transforming community.

Our History

“From the very beginning, the importance of a mission for York was on the hearts of all of us.”

So said Stuart Shelley, one of the founders of York Rescue Mission (the precursor to LifePath Christian Ministries). In 1961, Shelley and others started planning the Mission’s work and vision. We opened in 1962 with only two buildings — one for sleeping quarters for homeless neighbors, a small restaurant to serve meals, and a chapel, and the other for the Mission’s superintendent and family.

Herman R. Smith, another founder and our first Board President, said, “Our first priority has always been the salvation of men’s souls. Their spiritual needs come first, then their physical needs. We help them, house them, and feed them. We help them find God, and get over the problems they may have so they can reenter the mainstream of life.”

Within the first two years, the Mission became overcrowded and had to expand … and we’ve been expanding ever since — not just in our facilities, but also in the way we help our neighbors in need, now with more services than ever before.

Our Leadership

President
Jeff Kreuer

Vice President
Will Walls

Treasurer
Marley Gross

Secretary
James King

Directors

Peter McCreesh

Aaron Anderson

Chris Menges

Susan Campbell

Michael Crocenzi

Larry Walthour

Matthew F. Carey
CEO
717.845.7662x1301
mcarey@lifepathyork.org

Tiffany Glatfelter
COO
717.845.7662 x1302
tglatfelter@lifepathyork.org

Steve Brubaker
CPO
717.845.7662 x1304
sbrubaker@lifepathyork.org

Scott Beattie
Life Skills Manager, Men’s Shelter
717.472.8890 x1204
sbeattie@lifepathyork.org

Melanie Hady
Partner Relations Engagement Manager
717.845.7662 x1207
mhady@lifepathyork.org

Dave Cook
Corporate & Community Engagement Manager
717.845.5947 x1106
dcook@lifepathyork.org

Leah Wiley
Volunteer Engagement Coordinator
717.845.7662 x1103
lwiley@lifepathyork.org

Susan Workinger
Executive Assistant and Events Coordinator
717.845.7662 x1301
sworkinger@lifepathyork.org

Teresa Rufo
Food Services Manager
717.472.8890 x1205
trufo@lifepathyork.org

Tina Hildebrand
Director of Housing Operations
717.845.7662 x1203
thildebrand@lifepathyork.org

Perseus Gross
Men’s Shelter Manager
717.845-7662 x1202
pgross@lifepathyork.org

Annual Reports

In 2017, York Rescue Mission:

  • served 181,000+ meals
  • distributed 23,100 pounds of clothes
  • gave 36,598 nights of shelter
  • had 843 volunteers log a total of 13,453 hours of volunteer service
  • saw 245 people come to Christ

Read more of our 2017 highlights in our Annual Report.

Financials

LifePath Christian Ministries is a 501 (c)(3) non-profit, faith-based organization, accredited by the Association of Gospel Rescue Missions and with a 3-star rating from Charity Navigator. 65%* of all gifts are put back into life-changing programs. We receive no government funding. All contributions are tax-deductible.

*This is a 6-month statistic.